Customer Reviews & Testimonials

Icon

Expert Reviews


  • John Leivers, who worked with the adventure outfitter Amazonas Explorer convinced me to sign up for a five-day itinerary instead of the more popular four-day trip. I understood John's reasoning the next day when, after a relaxed afternoon of hiking along the Urubamba River, we arrived at the ruins of Patallacta. After a quick bath in the ice-cold stream, our Peruvian guide Efrain Valles led me into the ruins for a tour by flashlight. ....In the late afternoon, we approached a set of stone steps that vanished into the tropical greenery above. "You go first, Mark," Efrain said, suppressing a smile. "Let me know what you see up there. "At the top of the stairs the foliage parted and I turned left into a bright patch of sunlight. There I was greeted with a final surprise from the Inca geniuses who'd built this trail century before. Unfolding before me was a postcard come to life — the dazzling white stone city of Machu Picchu.
    Check out Mark's adventure, the incredible 5-day Inca Trail trek to the world-famous Machu Picchu.
    Mark Adams
    Author of “Turn Right at Machu Picchu”
  • Just to say that everything went perfectly on our weekend trip to Llactapata, so thanks so much for arranging that - and the vodka was really appreciated!! Peter, the director, also commented on how smoothly it all went and how good the staff and food were. We were lucky with the weather, the solstice did exactly what it was supposed to do, and aren´t the views from there amazing? Will speak to you soon, but just wanted to write quickly to say thanks.
    Our team of travel experts created Adrian's own personalized adventure according to his preferences. If you would like to do the same, get in contact with one of our experts, and see what we can create for you.
    Adrian Gallop
    -
    National Geographic
  • Amazonas Explorer are an ideal travel company - committed, knowledgeable and adventurous - with whom I have often travelled and always been impressed.
    Our team of travel experts created Hugh's own personalized adventure according to their preferences. If you would like to do the same, get in contact with one of our experts, and see what we can create for you.
    Hugh Thomson
    Author of “The White Rock”
  • If you want the best of Peru, these are the guys to go with. They love what they do and, if you want adventure, so will you. In my view, the best adventure company in Peru.
    Our team of travel experts created Martha's own personalized adventure according to her preferences. If you would like to do the same, get in contact with one of our experts, and see what we can create for you.
    Martha Holmes
    Wildlife producer
    -
    BBC
  • Paul Cripps and his team at Amazonas Explorer worked with us to set up our filming in different locations across Peru for the TV series ‘Robson Green’s Extreme Fishing Challenge’. They were extremely thorough, efficient, and professional and their knowledge of the country and ability to make things happen at short notice proved invaluable for ensuring a successful shoot.
    Our team of travel experts created Alistair's own personalized adventure according to their preferences. If you would like to do the same, get in contact with one of our experts, and see what we can create for you.
    Alistair Smith
    TV Director “Robson Green Extreme Fishing”
    -
    Channel 5
  • This is to extend my strongest recommendation, to those seeking a guide in Peru, for having Efrain Valles as a tour guide. Our group of 13 all had an outstanding experience in Arequipa, Puno, Cuzco and Machu Picchu. Each and every one of us was honored and grateful to have a guide who was thoughtful, cheerful, helpful, knowledgeable, and friendly. He is a true ambassador for the Andean culture and its relationship to nature and communicated great enthusiasm for his work and for his nation.
    Our team of travel experts created David's own personalized adventure according to his preferences. If you would like to do the same, get in contact with one of our experts, and see what we can create for you.
    David Bingham
    -
    Grandson of Hiram Bingham, discover of Machu Picchu
  • I’ve gone on two Amazonas Explorers trips and, as far as I’m concerned, they are the best trip organizers in Peru. One of the trips was the standard Inca trail hike, pulled off flawlessly; the other was taking inflatable kayaks on muleback to the headwaters of the Tuichi River in Madidi National Park in Bolivia, then kayaking for a week down to the river’s mouth. I’ve known the owner, Paul Cripps, for more than two decades—if he hasn’t personally hiked it, biked it, floated it or climbed it—then it probably simply can’t be done!
    Check out Kim’s adventure and plenty like it as you browse
    Kim MacQuarrie
    -
    author of The Last Days of the Incas

Client Reviews


  • Excellent activities, bikes really good quality, picnic lunch superb, all our guides, drive, chef, fantastic. Pedro's food was wonderful, Jorge was a safe driver who made us feel very comfortable. Jose our guide was absolutely superb, would always highly recommend it. So informative, fun, the right level of culture vs activity. Logistics were excellent and everything ran very smoothly.

    Check out SC's adventure, the Cultural and adrenalyn packed 8-day adventure through the Sacred Valley and Cusco.

    SC, March 2018
    -
    Bike and one day Inca trail
  • We originally wanted to trek the 4-day Classic Inka Trail but when we missed out on permits for 2 years running, we decided to look at other options. We decided to combine the 3 day Lares trek with the 2 days 104 km trek to Machu Pichu, Recommendations from Lonely Planet and Tripadvisor led us to Amazonas Explorer-what luck!! Matt dealt with our questions efficiently and patiently. Once in Cuzco, our guide Eduardo was amazing, always arriving promptly with a big, warm smile. He was so knowledgeable and passionate about Peru's Inca history, flora, fauna, and food. He cared for us (Bruce, myself, and our Canadian buddy Linda) like we were his children. Our wonderful support team, including Braulio (our skillful, safe, and happy driver) and our incredible cooks and porters were all fantastic. Nothing was too much for them and their care in everything they did was evident. All meals were amazing-tasty, plentiful and along with tables, chairs,tents-even linen napkins-was all beyond expectation. We rate Eduardo and his team 10 out of 10. We can highly recommend Eduardo and Amazonas Explorer(AE). They'll look after you with utmost care the entire trip. Their employees were very happy to work for AE and were treated and trained well. AE is very environmentally aware and engaged in various measures and projects to protect the environment. If you want to arrive at Machu Pichu on a path less traveled, combine the Lares and km 104 treks. On the Lares trek, it was mostly just us and the alpacas.
    Check out Nats adventure, our Lares Trek to Machu Picchu here.
    Nat
  • Our guide was a very knowledgeable, warm, charismatic individual whose company we enjoyed. The highlight was the Inca Trail, especially when we had it to ourselves. We had a superb time due to the organization and guides

    Check out Jo and Hugh's adventure, the incredible 5-day Inca Trail trek to the world-famous Machu Picchu.

    Jo and Hugh
  • I had been waiting to take this trip into the mountains of Peru to explore little-visited Incan ruins for years, I took my teenage daughters with me, and we were ready and hoping for the trip of a lifetime, and Amazonas Explorer not only gave us the trip we were hoping for, honestly they surpassed all expectations. Our guide Jimmy was amazing, we learned so much from him, and he took such good care of my girls and watched out for all of us. The food was incredible, amazing meals, especially to have while hiking back in the mountains. One of the most awe-inspiring, memorable, and amazing trips of my life. Even when our flights changed, our guide met up with us in Cusco, helped us plan days in the city after the hike was done, and took great care of us from the moment our plane landed until we took off again. For anybody thinking of taking a trip like this, there is no one better than Amazonas Explorer.
    Check out Jeremy's adventure, the awe-inspiring Choquequirao to Machu Picchu trek, here.
    Jeremy Lee
  • Dimetrio our porter was excellent, very friendly, and respectful: Julio the driver was friendly and safe. We only did the hike from km104 but it was perfect in every way. C His unbelievable knowledge and respect for the culture and history really made it a perfect trip. The 1-day hike was challenging in parts, as expected, but Chino always made sure we were safe and happy. Every part was perfect. Winay Wayna Sungate and Machu Picchu were all mind-blowing. Thank you Chino for making my wife's 50th birthday the best ever and showing my sons a perfect example of a passionate and hard worker.

    Check out Mr Hall's adventure, the one of a kind KM104 (Inca Trail) leading explorers into the world-famous Machu Picchu.

    Mr Hall
    -
    One day Inca Trail
  • Carlos was awesome, very helpful, knowledgeable, informative, friendly, good company. He was thoughtful about our needs and when feeling some illness he had helpful suggestions and was very professional. We felt well taken care of and highly recommend him as a guide. Pedro was an incredible cook and the meals on the trek were awesome. Food/ meals at restaurants were also great, snacks were just right and a good supply of water. We had a great size tent, sleeping bags of perfect warmth, Thermarest great, baño, and shelter great and loved the water bottles we were given.

    Highlights included the trekking for sure, the way Carlos introduced us to Machu Picchu when we reached the sun gate, and the shared enjoyment of flora and fauna along the way. Awesome experience of completing a trek I've wanted to do for a long time and spending it with my son and such a wonderful team that felt so unified

    Check out Harriet's adventure, the cultural exploration and physical exertion that is the Lares Trek with the final day Trekking into Machu Picchu.

    Harriet
  • We normally prefer traveling independent of any guides/tours, but with the current Covid restrictions and things changing so quickly we figured it was best to hire a tour company. This was the best decision we could make. Amazonas Explorers helped us create a custom itinerary perfect for all members of our family with the right mix of history, adventure, and culture. Our main guide Cristobal was so helpful and beyond being really good at being a tour guide he is also just a genuinely caring person. There were also a number of activity-specific guides throughout the trip that were equally friendly and professional. These guides have been out of work for over a year with the effects of Covid on tourism so it was evident they were so happy to receive new guests to their country. Now is the perfect time to travel before the swarms of tourists return and Amazonas Explorers is the company to hire.
    Make your own adventure, just like Jared. Send us your ideas here and let us craft your dream vacation.
    Jared Salter
  • Chino was so amazing. By the end of the trek we felt that we had made a great friend, he was so kind, intelligent, and polite and was just great with our teenage children. We went 9km and told Chino we wanted to go really fast to challenge ourselves. We made the trek in about 3 hours instead of 5. We were very happy. The difficult initial ascent from km104 was a very vigorous trek which we loved. The ruins of Winay Wayna were magical and the amazing flowers, ferns, moss, and vines were the best. I loved it all except the scary bus ride down from Machu Picchu to the train station. Next time I will trek down.

    Check out Kristen's adventure, the one of a kind KM104 (Inca Trail) leading explorers into the world-famous Machu Picchu.

    Kristen
  • I just wanted to take a moment to say I have just spoken with Mrs. C about their Peru trip and one of the things she raved about most was all the Amazonas guides they had, she said they were all absolutely brilliant, really switched on and just got them. They absolutely loved doing the Km 104 trek (and the guide switched around the grumpy daughter in just 5 mins) and was so pleased they did things this way and they were happy just taking the train back that evening, she says they didn’t even spend that long in the ruins (she had been there 20 years before when it was obviously a lot less busy!)

    She said you have a brilliant set up and she couldn’t have been more complimentary about you guys.

    Thanks so much for taking such good care of them and hasta pronto!

    Check out Karen's adventure, the historical KM104 hike into Machu Picchu, and see the famous ruins through the sun gate for yourself.

    Karen
  • Jimmie was our guide. I felt he was very knowledgeable and especially appreciated his expertise in negotiating the river and rapids. I felt very safe. He was very patient and encouraging on the Inca Trail. He left me with an appreciation for the Peruvian culture and I learned much about the history. Great guide. Also very personable.

    Check out Debra's adventure, the incredible 5-day Inca Trail trek to the world-famous Machu Picchu.

    Debra
  • Fantastic, highly professional and well organized service. I have used Amazonas Explorer for personal trips- kayaking and rafting on Laguna Huaypo and the Rio Apurimac, e-biking trips, mountain biking trips, hikes to Incan ruins. I have also used them for Activities and Social Service projects with students from the school I work at in Lima- tree planting for carbon offset, kayaking and stand up paddle-boarding activities on Laguna Piuray and Laguna Huaypo. Good quality equipment, high standard of instruction and very close attention to the safety of my students.
    Check out any of John's adventures, from biking through the Sacred Valley to Kayaking and Rafting, and other kinds of watersports.
    John Vincent
  • We had a fantastic trip! You guys did such a great job of organizing everything for us, from the transfers/pick-ups/drop-offs at our various locations, to the amazing guides, the itinerary, the hikes, the picnic lunches, hotels, etc. We felt very well taken care of and at the same time got a wonderful taste of the beauty and culture of Peru. We were able to comment on our guide Ruben "Chino" for the Machu Picchu portion of our trip in the feedback questionnaire we returned to you. We also wanted to take this opportunity to tell you how much we enjoyed our time with Omar Quintana on the Arequipa/Colca portion of our trip. Omar was extremely knowledgeable and adept at providing us with insights into pre-Incan, Incan, and Spanish cultural influences on modern-day Peru. He was also a fantastic natural guide, pointing out many birds and other wildlife, such as Vicuna. He took us on a really great hike while we were in Colca Valley. He was very professional, but at the same time friendly and sociable. He instilled a feeling of complete confidence in his leadership of our travels. We also were very happy with our driver for this part of the trip, Pablo.

    Overall, we are very grateful for an excellent experience and trip and would highly recommend Amazonas Explorers to anyone planning a trip to Peru!!

    Thank you so much!!- Gail and Rick

    Check out Gail and Rick's adventure, the Southern Explorer, passing through all the major cities in Peru and offering an incredible exploration of the country.

    Gail and Rick
    -
    Private trip
  • We were greeted warmly by Kiki and Remy impressed us with his driving right away. We loved all 3 hotels, they were so nice and each hotel's staff was so helpful, and all had excellent showers.

    The hotels all had great food but the real food highlights were the lunches and dinners during our excursions. Leo ( biking) and Romel, Gonzo, and Santiago were excellent chefs!! The logistics were phenomenal! All of our rides/ guides were always there early and we never had to worry or even think about getting from activity to activity.

    All of the specialty equipment provided for rafting and biking was in great shape and clearly explained to us. It's hard to explain how perfect our days with Amazonas were. The guides were so thoughtful, caring and knowledgeable. They taught us so much about Peru and its history. From rafting to Apurimac to biking the Sacred Valley to hiking the Inca Trail to exploring Mapi, we're overwhelmed with all the beauty.

    We felt like Kiki, Wilheim, Leo; Ronny, Gonzo, Romel, and especially our "primo" Santiago Carlin, are family now. We loved them all. Kiki is like familia, from our 1st tour of Cusco through our 2 days in Mapi, he excelled in every area. We had stomach issues for the hike and he was so patient and thoughtful. Santiago encouraged us to "cliff" jump and just every minute of skill and knowledge he brought to the trip exploring Mapi, a sunrise based on Kiki's rec, was perfect. Honestly, nothing was bad other than our own health issues. Amazonas excelled at every level.

    Check out the Libby family's adventure, the awesome 8-day active adventure, perfect for families and all other kinds of travelers.

    The Libby Family
    multi-activity private
  • I was astounded by the varied menu and what the cook produced. The personnel was all friendly, polite, and very good at their jobs. Our guide was knowledgeable, friendly with a sense of humor, and professional at all times. He instilled confidence. Choquequirao was a little harder than expected due to the altitude. Every day was an experience/ an adventure. All our senses were stimulated.

    Check out Runa's adventure, our trek from Choquequirao to Machu Picchu, here.

    Runa
  • I cannot say enough good things about Amazonas Explorer and our passionate tour guide, Cristo, the diligent porters, and all the people working in the background on the Amazonas Explorer team. My husband and I did the 5-day Machu Pichu hike this past September. AE is professional, organized, ethical, and made this experience one I will never forget. The porters were amazing, the food was delicious and we even had plenty of snacks supplied by AE. Cristo shared so much knowledge, that the few months since being back I've been reading more books about the history of Peru. He was so insightful and really put his heart into the tour. I really enjoyed visiting the Inca sites leading up to Machu Pichu and a few of our stops in the Sacred Valley. I also want to thank Andrea, who was our main contact with organizing the trip. We had planned to trek in May of 2020, but we all know the world had different plans. After postponing a few times, we were finally able to book for September of 2021. She was punctual, efficient, and organized. I know she did not have an easy job that year and I really appreciate her hard work. Seriously, book with this group! Amazonas Explorers, thank you for a trip we will never forget.
    Check out Cindy Lee's adventure, our incredible 5-day Inca Trail trek to Machu Picchu.
    Cindy Lee
  • Truly everything was great; excursions, food, accommodations, hospitality, organization...etc.

    Our trip was well planned out but still allowed for a lot of flexibility.

    It was just the right amount of physical challenge for my 14yo son and me. We’re both fairly active people, but also wanted some exposure to culture and variety. This trip struck a great balance of all we were looking for adventure, culture, and relaxation. Our guides were knowledgeable, patient, and easy-going. We felt very well cared for. I think the high point for both of us was when we climbed up the final steps on the Inca trail at the Sun Gate and took in the view of the amazing Machu Picchu. It was truly awe-inspiring.

    I also felt that our accommodations were well-curated to have a minimal environmental impact and our excursions allowed us to patronize locally owned establishments. Thanks for helping us plan our unforgettable adventure.

    N and L's adventure was created by a travel expert according to their interests and their passions. If you want to do the same, get in touch with one of our experts today.

    N and L
  • Cristo was fantastic. Extremely knowledgeable, patient and helpful, and good at managing a very large group. He is passionate about sharing his Peruvian culture and we learned a lot from him. Eduardo was also excellent. The highlight was the Inca Trail. Stand-up paddleboarding was a blast and we loved the traditional Peruvian lunch.

    Check out Lauren and Eric's adventure, the incredible 5-day Inca Trail trek to the world-famous Machu Picchu.

    Lauren and Eric
  • We would never have been able to organize this trip without a guide. Everything went smoothly and we had a great time. Everyone was very nice and worked very hard. The food was all very good but there was more than we needed. Everyone on the trek did a great job and we really appreciate their hard work.

    Jose was great. He was always on time and very organized. He is also very knowledgeable and pleasant. He was very attentive to how everyone in the group was doing and we really enjoyed getting to know him. We knew the trekking was going to be difficult and it was. Jose did a good job letting us know what to expect and making sure everyone made it. The Inca trail was amazing and the best part was arriving to Machu Picchu through the Sun Gate. We have no complaints. We were especially impressed with how the trek was organized so we were able to avoid other tourists on visiting all the sites at non-peak times.

    Check out Kirsten's adventure, the incredible 5-day Inca Trail trek to the world-famous Machu Picchu.

    Kirsten
    -
    5 day Inca Trail
  • Rafting with Santiago was amazing!!! Our safety kayaker Victor was a very skilled boater and always had eyes on us through all the rapids! This company has great focus on safety and fun and has top notch staff! Also the food served during the trip was amazing!!! I would 10 out of 10 recommend using Amazonas Explorers! We can't wait to come back to Peru and plan another excursion with Paul and his team!!
    Check out LeighAnn's adventure, our short rafting trips in the Sacred Valley.
    LeighAnn L
  •  I want to add a more personal note of thanks for a fantastic holiday. Overall I thoroughly enjoyed the experience, I thought it was well planned, superbly guided and supported by the camp crew. The four main guides were excellent and fully up to the standard I have become used to.

    Diego did a great job of keeping a very mixed group of cyclists safe and happy and although personally, I was hoping for a bit of single track, the mostly gravel roads allowed for some lovely free-flowing riding and enabled us to look at the scenery without too much risk of becoming part of it! I still can't believe I rode downhill for a whole day descending around 8,000 feet! If I were to change anything about the first week I would skip the second night in the Amazon Lodge in favour of some more riding.

    For the second week, Jose did an equally good job. His knowledge and his pride in the history and heritage of the area really brought the trek to life. I enjoyed his sense of humour and his 'half-minutes.' Thank you also for instantly converting everything from metres to feet just for me. I enjoyed the un-spoilt open trails mixed with the final historic route from KM104 up to the Sun Gate. What a great way to get the first view of Machu Picchu and to enter it as most visitors were going. I'm pleased I did this mixed week rather than just the 'classic' historic Inca Trail. I couldn't believe I was walking at over 14,000 feet and feeling so good! if I would suggest anything to change it would possibly be to try and plan to return to Cusco straight after lunch and have a final evening as a group.

    Incidentally, full marks to Jose for sorting out the problem with the train so quickly and efficiently.

    Check out David's adventure, the incredible experience of cycling and exploring the Sacred Valley by bike with an Amazon add on.

    David W
  • I just wanted to drop you a quick note and tell you what a wonderful guide Ruben has been already. His stories, attention to detail, and love for the land and his people are powerful.  Just as important is his pride in your organization; how you treat the chefs, drives, and the “mi waikey” porters (no idea how to spell the word :-).  It is very encouraging in a world where kindness and care are the exceptions, not the rule and it’s only day one!!

    Warm Regards, Cathi

    Our team of travel experts created Nelson's own personalized adventure according to his preferences. If you would like to do the same, get in contact with one of our experts, and see what we can create for you.

    C Nelson, August 2019
  • Porters were friendly and extremely hard working. We loved them. Pedro our cook was just amazing ( could not have been better). The camping was above and beyond! The entire crew delivered perfect service. Fisher was amazing from start to finish, knowledgeable, professional, fun, and motivated. He helped us have the trip of a lifetime. Would want to have him as a guide again. Every day was better than the last. The meals, the campsites, all amazing!! The champagne on the final day was such a thoughtful touch. Would not change a thing!

    Check out Matt's adventure, the incredible 5-day Inca Trail trek to the world-famous Machu Picchu.

    Matt
    -
    5 day Inca Trail
  • I would give them more stars if I could. We did 2 adventures with them. The 1st was the mountain e-bike tour of Cusco. We mountain bike at home all the time but never riden an e-bike. This seemed like a great opportunity to try it out. Our guide, Juan Carlo, was awesome! He took us on some beautiful trails where we had amazing views of the city. He was very in tune with our skill level and considerate of our needs. Now I’m searching for an e-bike at home to buy!!!!! The 2nd tour we did was the one-day whitewater rafting trip on the Apurimac River. The road just to get there was an adventure in itself. The river is in a gorgeous canyon. Our guide, Victor, made us feel totally secure and safe. We also had a safety person in a kayak accompany us. They prepared a wonderful breakfast on the drive there, then a lunch that way exceeded our expectations halfway through the river. We even pulled over in our raft to check out a beautiful waterfall. All of their personal and safety equipment was in top condition, which reflects their ability to treat clients with care and respect. I highly recommend Amazonas Explorer! They offer several adventures and we’ll definitely book more with them next time we visit Peru.
    Check out Geri-Sue's adventure, our e-bike adventures, and our short rafting trips.
    Geri-Sue
  • I recently took this trip to Peru just wanted to pass on my thanks to all the tour guides who looked after us, in particular the tour leader Jose and Omar. They were friendly, informative, and helpful from start to finish and never let our morale drop. I was particularly impressed with their English skills and knowledge not just of their own culture but ours too. While not everything went right on the trip (and it is reasonable to expect things to go wrong from time to time), Jose was able to adapt to the situation and come up with a solution quickly enough that our trip was not unduly disrupted.

    Please pass on my thanks to Santiago and Miguel who took us rafting and cycling.

    Finally, I really appreciate the quality of the food we received, so pass on my thanks to all the support staff involved in that. I did not have high expectations of the food on a camping trip and I am pleased to say that I was completely wrong. (The food we had on the cycling day was probably my best meal of the whole vacation).

    Check out Chris's adventure, the incredible experience of cycling and exploring the Sacred Valley by bike.

    Chris W, Cycle tour. September 2018
  • My daughters,  my grandchildren,  and I took a private tour with Amazonas Explorer from July 19 to the 26th, 2019. The tour exceeded my expectations.  The guide, the drivers, the cooks were polite, knowledgeable,  and friendly.  They made us feel safe, comfortable, and pampered.

    Every day was filled with excitement,  wonder, and overall fun. José,  our unforgettable guide, made sure of that. We toured Cuzco, Sacsayhuaman,  Tambo Machay, the Inca Temple of the Moon, the concentric circle terraces in Moray, the salt pans of Maras breathtaking Machu Pichu,  and Lake Titicaca. Our guide and driver in Puno were also top-notch. We were very happy with our hotels, food, and transportation. I can't say enough about the service provided by Amazonas Explorer.

    If you would like to tour Peru, we highly recommend Amazonas Explorer.

    Thank you for making my dream vacation a reality.

    Martha, Mary, Margot, Alexia, and Niko

    Check out Martha's adventure, the one-of-a-kind in-depth Sacred Valley Explorer with an add-on to Puno.

    Martha
  • Each day was well planned down to every detail -we only had to enjoy ourselves. Everyone without exception was friendly, helpful, and skilled. The cook Enrique should open a restaurant! Last year we were so impressed with our guide in Africa- we thought no one could be better- but Cristo was so good with our granddaughter who needed someone to keep up with her energy. I so appreciated the depth of personal sharing from our guides, especially Cristo and Santi.

    Our team of travel experts created Charles's own personalized adventure according to his preferences. If you would like to do the same, get in contact with one of our experts, and see what we can create for you.

    Charles
    -
    Custom trip
  • Amazing service. We did a kayaking trip and hike/see Salt Pan of Maras. I am glad I booked these activities with them. I have the confidence to recommend them to my friends and family. Book with them to have an excellent time in the Sacred Valley.
    Check out Rochelle's adventure, our kayaking adventures and day hikes here
    Rochelle Fin
  • I was on the recent Lares trail hike tour to Machu Picchu with Jose as a guide.

    This is about my 10th similar tour over 20 years in 6 countries, so I’ve seen a lot of guides.

    I thoroughly enjoyed Jose as a guide. He kept a good pace without rushing the slower people. He was knowledgeable and answered questions well. He seemed to work well with other guides, locals and us. He was one of the factors that would make me consider doing business with you again.

    Check out Marks's cultural hike to Machu Picchu, passing through indigenous villages, and the Inca Sun Gate into the ancient citadel; The Lares Valley with KM104.

    Mark E, Lares, September 2018
  • Hi Carol and Paul,

    I debriefed with our client yesterday and he absolutely RAVED about how incredible the guides, porters, itinerary, and general organization of Amazonas was.

    Please pass on to your entire team how much we appreciate your hard work in making these itineraries run smoothly, in particular, Jimmy and the porters who accompanied the team.

    We are looking forward to continuing this strong partnership for many years to come 🙂

    Check out this adventure, the incredible 5-day Inca Trail trek to the world-famous Machu Picchu.

    Charity Inca Trail Trek
  • The activities were all great. Bicycling, rafting, horseback riding, hiking, visiting the girls' school, jungle. In my opinion, the trip guides and facts were amazing. But the trip tour guide Cristo was my personal favorite and our driver was also amazing.

    Our team of travel experts created W.S's own personalized adventure according to his preferences. If you would like to do the same, get in contact with one of our experts, and see what we can create for you.

    W. S
    -
    Custom trip
  • We had the most amazing time, our guide met us at the airport, showed us around Cusco, and helped us even before our trip got fully underway. Once we were on the trail things were, if anything, even better. It was the most amazing trip, and our guide, cook, and the rest of the team took such incredible care of us. We learned, had amazing views, and day after day if anything the views became more awe-inspiring. The food was delicious, and I was even more amazed watching them cookout on the trails. I went on this trip with my two teenage daughters, and our guide Jimmy and the rest of the guys took such good care of them, made us all feel safe, and we learned so much hiking between the villages and ruins, and spotting wildlife and ducking into caves. One of the best back-country trips I have ever had in my life.
    Check out Jeremy's adventure, our trek from Choquequirao to Machu Picchu, here.
    Jeremy L
  • Just a thank you for the great trip we had on the trail, with Jimmy and in the rainforest with Pepe, plus a special thanks for sorting the flight issues we had, getting out of Puerto Maldonado as we had two flights cancelled.

    Check out Bob's adventure through the Amazon to Machu Picchu and see for yourself why he loved it so much.

    Bob
  • I cannot put into words what this trip means to me:

    One of the best times of my life. One I will relish forever.

    The food on the trail was fantastic and I cannot believe the quality and diversity of the cuisine.

    The guides were wonderful, professional, knowledgeable, and caring.

    Thank you so, so, much for everything you did.

     
    Check out DR's adventure, the incredible 5-day Inca Trail trek to the world-famous Machu Picchu.
    DR
  • It was a busy trip but there was a lot to see and experience so one expects to try and fit in as much as possible. It was very well organized and well run, the staff were pleasant and very helpful. The camping and trekking were above expectation. Can´t believe we had so many helpful staff and the food was superb, especially for the distance covered and terrain. Exceeded all my expectations. Our guide was fantastic- well-informed and knowledgeable about all aspects of the towns and country. Humorous and interacted with the group very well. Efrain was exceptional and we really got to enjoy the trip so much with his knowledge and experiences. The best!

    Some trekking days were easier than expected and others quite tough but this was expected. It was a privilege to have been on such an incredible journey. Everything was wonderful, I enjoyed the whole trip and experience.

    Check out Lee's adventure, the incredible 5-day Inca Trail trek to the world-famous Machu Picchu.

    Lee
    -
    5 day Inca Trail
  • We went on the 2 day Black Canyon rafting trip and had the best time! This was our first overnight rafting trip so we had no idea what to expect, but our experience was far superior to what I could have imagined! Neil picked us up from our Airbnb and took us to the river. He recommended quick stops to take pictures of the beautiful landscape on the way to the river. Once at the river the team had everything ready to go! We had such a good time with Neil! There were two other guides, one guiding our gear boat and another on a kayak to be there in case someone fell out or needed help. It was clear they love their job! They were so fun to hang out with. They had picked out a great place for our campsite! It was serious glamping! They provided everything we needed! We had so much food it was impossible to eat it all! They cooked us an amazing dinner and we had awesome food throughout the entire trip! The rapids were also a blast! If you have a GoPro mount bring it! They have the base of the mount at the front of the raft. Neil made sure we got some great pictures! They had everything down to the last detail and we couldn’t have been better taken care of. They made sure we were safe, comfortable, and had fun the entire time. I can’t recommend this company enough!
    Check out Katherine's adventure, our Two Day Black Canyon Rafting Trip, here.
    Katherine B
  • All the excursions that Amazonas organized were very good. We enjoyed the Kayaking despite the weather not being great that day. It was incredibly well organized and the guide who did that with us was fantastic. they cooked an excellent lunch cooked by the lake which was great. The salt mine was well worth a visit and was fascinating. All the hikes were a great success particularly the one ending up in Ollantaytambo at an amazing organic farm/distillery/restaurant called El Albergue where we had a traditionally cooked meal, a Pachamanca. It was a spectacular day, possibly our best.

    The hike to the Sun Gate was a great success though we found it quite tough despite the fact that we are reasonably fit and had done several hikes at altitude in the preceding days. It was a great way to see the ruins but we were absolutely shattered at the end. Our guide was excellent both at explaining the local flora and fauna but also pacing us and coaching us when we were getting tired. It took us 5 hours. There were very few people on it until we got very close to Machu Picchu and we were really glad we had done it. It was a good recommendation.

    Ashley's adventure was created by a travel expert according to their interests and passions. If you want to do the same, get in touch with one of our experts today.

    Ashley
  • Before any more time passes, I want to tell you all how much we appreciated all of your help in making our trip to Peru truly memorable.

    From our airport pick-up and initial Cusco orientation by Chino to our final transfer with Daniel, every anxiety we had was met and alleviated by your responsiveness.

    Chino and Nati, we couldn't have had guides we enjoyed more; we felt in very capable hands, and you did a superb job "herding the 13 cats" that made up our group.

    It felt like the group really formed into a team, and I give you all credit for creating and supporting an environment where that can happen.

    We also appreciated the atmosphere of equality and respect that extended to all of our trekking support staff, and please once again extend our appreciation to all of them.

    We will definitely tell friends about  Amazonas Explorer when planning their trip to Peru.

    Check out Reva and Dana's adventure, the ultimate Inca Trail trek to Machu Picchu, an adventure that takes you all over the Sacred Valley.

    Reva Parker and Dana Huschle
  • Everything was well organized and friendly, the staff very friendly, competent and helpful. I could not have asked for a better guide. Friendly, fun, well-educated, well-spoken, fun to be around. The highlights were good friends- appreciating nature and beautiful country and the prepared tents with sleeping bags and inners. All the organization was 100%

    Check out Patty's adventure, our Lares Trek to Machu Picchu here.

    Patty
  • I'm not sure anyone knows more about having adventures in the Cusco area of Peru (and beyond) than Amazonas Explorer. Guides are properly trained, itineraries are well-thought-out; the emphasis is on safety but also on FUN! They do the classic trips brilliantly but also have lots of ideas for more offbeat escapades. And they're a B Corporation, too, so have excellent environmental credentials.
    Check out Sarah's adventure, our in depth Sacred Valley Explorer, here.
    Sarah B
  • Our guide Juan Carlos Salazar is a wonderful man. We connected well, he was very polite, personable, extremely helpful, and attentive to our needs. Pedro the chef was fantastic and the other meals were all tasty and healthy. All equipment was in good shape and well functioning and the complimentary water bottle was a nice treat- quality and unique bottle. We loved the quiet hikes with very few people around, the views were spectacular, the crew was great, the km104 Inca Trail approach to Macchu Picchu was very special and the Lares thermal baths were so relaxing. It was a wonderful life experience, I will remember it always.

    Check out Eric's adventure, the hike to Machu Picchu with in-depth cultural experiences as well as passing through the gateway to Machu Picchu, the Lares Trek with KM104.

    Eric V- Lares with km104- April 2019
  • Paul and I arrived home from Peru last night and I wanted to let you know that we had the most fantastic time.

    Our itinerary packed so much into the few days that we had available and Elias was a superb guide, he was easy company, friendly, knowledgeable and clearly loved the sites that we visited as much as we did. You are very lucky to have him as part of your team.

    Special mention also for Ninos, our driver.  We felt safe with him behind the wheel at all times, despite very tricky roads and he never kept us waiting.  Elias and Ninos worked very well together.

    Overall our trip far exceeded expectations and we loved Peru.

    Many thanks for all of the organisation that made it possible.

     
    Check out Paul's adventure, The Machu Picchu Express, and find out for yourself what makes it so special.
     Sir & Lady C. 
  • We did the Inca Trail with Amazonas Explorer. The impeccably organized trip, ethical company, and great service from a lovely team of support staff. Feedback from others in the trek group who had also done rafting and biking was good too. It was a pleasure to use Amazonas and I would have no hesitation in doing so again.

    Check out Sam's adventure, the incredible 5-day Inca Trail trek to the world-famous Machu Picchu.

    Sam
  • I recently spent five days with Amazonas Explorer in Peru, doing a three-day trek in the Lares Valley, then hiking the Inca Trail from Km 104 up to Machu Picchu's Sun Gate and having a guided tour of the lost city the next day. Our guide Jimmy was excellent, very skillful, personable, and knowledgeable throughout—we spent five days with him and I can't say enough about how he made the experience pleasant and fun (even to duct-tape-repairing my hiking shoe when one of the soles started to come apart). The trek support team was fantastic, with four-star restaurant-worthy food prepared by the camp chef Paulino; our driver Ronne was great, and the other staff were also responsible and friendly. The office staff, especially Matt, was very responsive to my needs as I interacted with him to set up the trip for myself and my wife. This trip turned out to be a wonderful life-long memory and I'm grateful to Amazonas Explorer for delivering on the promise of a first-class experience.

    Check out Sam's adventure, our Lares Trek to Machu Picchu here.

    Solomon
  • Tough going but worth it if you can handle it and are happy to do some preparation. Especially as not many people do it so it's much quieter. These guys picked us up at the airport, gave us a quick tour around the main parts of Cusco, advised on the best place to get money changed, pharmacy, Mercado, and arranged to meet up at our hotel the night before the trek started to go through the schedule and what to expect. The trek was so well organized. Couldn't fault anything.

    They also took us to the airport on our final morning for the next part of our trip. We rented sleeping bags usd10/night per person and walking poles usd10/pair for the trek. Our guide arranged for us to go to the hot springs in Santa Teresa on the last camping night of our trip (80 soles return taxi from our campsite plus 10 soles entry per person). This was awesome for our tired legs!

    The tents were roomy. There is a separate dining tent and a tent for El Bano the toilet tardis which got pitched lunchtime and overnight. So impressed with the food. Timo is a talented chef who should open his own restaurant. There was always a horse bringing up the rear with water onboard or in case of any issues or injuries. If you are doing Choquequirao, do it with Amazonas Explorer.

    Check out Katie's adventure, our trek from Choquequirao to Machu Picchu, here.

    Katie
  • I am so happy with our choice to go ahead with Amazonas Explorer. The trip was well planned, well run and our guide Edvard was very knowledgeable. The food provided over the course of the trek was excellent. The quality of the camping equipment and facilities were again excellent. Can not recommend the company enough.

    Check out Laura's adventure, our Lares Trek to Machu Picchu here.

    Laura
  • The guide (Jaime) we had during our stay at the Hacienda, Cusco, and in Manchu Picchu,  was excellent. He was very courteous, friendly, helpful, and informative. He really made our stay in each of those places very enjoyable and unforgettable.

    The other guides we had were also all good but we spent the most time with him so I particularly wanted to let you know how good he was.

    Mrs Collin's adventure was created by a travel expert according to their interests and passions. If you want to do the same, get in touch with one of our experts today.

    Mrs Collins
  • We had a most wonderful holiday and I cannot praise the arrangements too highly. The attention to detail was fantastic and everything went like clockwork.

    The itinerary provided a varied mix of culture and trekking, absolutely to our tastes and just what we were hoping for.  The hotel accommodation was all comfortable and as described, and at just the right level – we appreciated the comfort but would have been embarrassed by too much luxury on what was after all intended to be an active outdoors holiday. The trekking gear – tents, sleeping bags, etc – was all superb.  Our guides could not have been better – friendly, courteous, patient, and a mine of information.  Jimmy gave us constant attention in Cusco, the Sacred Valley, on the Lares Trek, and up to Macchu Pichu.

    Mauricio was equally assiduous in taking us to Colca, sharing my keen interest in photography so that I was never embarrassed to ask for a photo stop.  Even the guy who saw us from and to the airport in Lima (whose name I have forgotten) could not have done more and everyone who assisted our short trek was also really excellent – the gourmet cooking on a single gas stove was out of this world for its quality and imagination, the best I’ve ever had on trek. 

    Thanks again for a brilliant holiday!

    Our team of travel experts created Ken's own personalized adventure according to his preferences. If you would like to do the same, get in contact with one of our experts, and see what we can create for you.

    Ken
  • Excellent itinerary. Just right. Very good organization, all very smooth, impressed by your dedicated staff.

    Paolino's cooking kept us happy and warm during the trekking, very impressive. We enjoyed the rafting trio ( Santiago, Neil, and Victor)- great guys, hugely entertaining. Efrain was a truly outstanding guide. Absolutely passionate about the Incas, very knowledgeable and generally a wonderful person. The trek was harder than we thought but very happy to have been pushed. Every member of your team was fantastic, we can't think of how you could improve it. We had a fantastic time

    Our team of travel experts created the AA Family's own personalized adventure according to their preferences. If you would like to do the same, get in contact with one of our experts, and see what we can create for you.

    A+A, Family trip
  • Hi Paul,

    We had a wonderful time mountain biking with Juan Carlos on Saturday. It was honestly the best mountain biking excursion I have ever been on. I would love to do that every day for the rest of my life!

    Turney

    Check out Turney's adventure, an action-packed day bike through Cusco and the Sacred Valley, and find out for yourself what all the fuss is about.

    Turney
  • Dear Matt and Carol:

    I write to thank you and tell you what an amazing trip we had in Peru with Amazonas Explorer a couple of weeks ago.  You and your staff could not have done a better job.  As you may recall, we had two late in the game changes because two of the four of us realized we could not do the full trek.  You addressed the situation with grace and flexibility and made it possible for all of us to have a great trip.  Lenny and I, who did the five-day Inca Trail, really appreciated Jose, our guide, and the porters, who did everything we could have hoped for.

    They fed us well, created a comfortable commode (the Rocket), set up our tents, and carried most of our gear.  And always beat us to camp and had everything waiting for us when we arrived.  Jose is very knowledgeable about the Inca sites and Inca culture and is obviously proud of his heritage.  We learned a lot from him, and he was encouraging and patient with the fact that I was slower than Lenny.

    I never once felt bad about being the slower one; Jose waited for me and encouraged me every step of the way.  He has a great manner, a warmth of personality and sense of humor, and that made the trip very special.  The porters, too, were kind and lovely, and we managed to communicate with smiles and laughter even when we lacked a common language.

    Carole and Connie, who hiked the first day with us, and then returned to Ollantaytambo for some Sacred Valley touring and met us later in the trip also had a fantastic time and had wonderful things to say about their guide, Nilo.  I will enthusiastically recommend Amazonas Explorer to anyone who decides to visit Machu Picchu or the Sacred Valley.

    Thank you, again.

    Check out Terry's adventure, the incredible 5-day Inca Trail trek to the world-famous Machu Picchu.

    Terry
  • Hi Matt, we have had the best trip with the boys in our lifetime. Both Helene and I are overjoyed and grateful for the professional friendly and charming guides you provided us. These young guys were smart, enthusiastic, knowledgeable, and had outstanding social skills with my sons (their age) and us old folks. Thank you

    Our team of travel experts created Helene's own personalized adventure according to her preferences. If you would like to do the same, get in contact with one of our experts, and see what we can create for you.
    Helene
  • Dear Paul, Carol, and Maria,

    We are home again after a great two-week trip through Peru! Everything was organized perfectly even with the changes needed due to the strike! We especially enjoyed having Efrain Valles as our guide as he connected with our kids in a very special way; he shows so much care and love for Peru and the Peruvian people! So thank you for organizing a beautiful trip for us that will provide us and our kids with great life-long memories! We will be back.

    Friendly regards,

    Margriet & family

    Our team of travel experts created Margriet's own personalized adventure according to her preferences. If you would like to do the same, get in contact with one of our experts, and see what we can create for you.

    Margriet van de Steeg
  • Hi Matt,

    The trek was incredible. The organization was first class and the guides, chefs, and horsemen all did a fantastic job. Loved every minute of it.

    Check out Arthur's adventure, our trek from Choquequirao to Machu Picchu, here.
    Arthur
  • Hi Paul,

    I just wanted to pass along some feedback from the client. They had a really great time in Cusco. They absolutely loved the Machu Picchu trek and one of their favorite activities was interacting with the children at the service site.

    Check out Chris's adventure: our multi-activity adventure here, taking explorers through an interactive historic and cultural exploration to Machu Picchu.

    Chris
  • Hi Mark, I just wanted to say a huge thank you for arranging the Choquequirao trek for me. I had an absolutely amazing time. Juan Carlos and Eduardo were superb guides and kept us safe and humored throughout. The group was also great to trek with and I feel like I have made some new friends.

    Best wishes to all at Amazonas and thanks again.

    Kind regards,

    Brian

    Check out Brian's adventure, our trek from Choquequirao to Machu Picchu, here.

    Brian
  • Carol,

    Now that we've returned, I wanted to let you know again just how much we enjoyed it.  I particularly want to let you know how impressed we were with the organization (including the timing of the first-day start and the arrival at Machu Picchu which kept us away from the multitudes), the professionalism and excellent people skills of the guides, and our wonderful crew who took such good care of us, fed us really well and clearly enjoy working for Amazonas Explorer.

    Check out Janet's adventure, the incredible 5-day Inca Trail trek to the world-famous Machu Picchu.

    Janet
  • I can report that we were very impressed. Of course, the canyon and the river sell themselves: spectacular scenery and a lovely time to go in May when everything is so green. But the professionalism of the operation and the high quality of both equipment and personnel were fantastic.

    It all ran so smoothly and was very slick. Everything from the careful driving to the expert piloting of the raft: we felt totally safe and had complete confidence in the raft. Santiago is a gem of a guide, and the two Victors were also very conscientious.  We were amazed by their skills: not only on the water but also creating such an enjoyable experience on the beaches: everything was set up for us quickly, and they are also very competent chefs. Extraordinary to have pisco sours created in a wind-up liquidizer, and a full English breakfast! The kit, from tents to tables and chairs, sleeping bags, etc, was top-notch. (The Number 2 loo tent perhaps not necessary: we’d have been quite happy to go natural and scoop it into a bag with a bit of lime and pop it into a little box...)

    I just hope Ed Sheeran enjoyed it as much as we did!

    Thanks again to everyone.

    Check out Claire's adventure, our Two Day Apurimac Canyon Rafting Trip, here.

    Claire
  • Once again we have had a superb adventure with Amazonas. As you know, we work all over the world, and it is fair to say that your level of professionalism, support of your guides and porters, and responsible tourism are second to none, you are our top-rated ground operator.

    Check out Justine's adventure, the incredible 5-day Inca Trail trek to the world-famous Machu Picchu.

    Justine
  • Dear Carol and the Amazonas team

    Just a short note to thank you all for the fantastic trip we all had the care and support we received were truly incredible and we would not hesitate to offer our recommendations anytime. Please, convey our thanks to Juan Carlos and the entire team... Their smiles and encouragement were contagious in their goodwill

    We are coming back!! Thanks and with our best

    Jozef

    Check out Jozef's adventure, our trek from Choquequirao to Machu Picchu, here.

    Jozef Straus
  • Jimmy was Professional and very Informed, Local knowledge and tour guide info were Exceptional He is Passionate about his Country and People. He administered Oxygen To Carol and kept an eye on her when suffering from Altitude Sickness, he also Phoned a Doctor in Cusco several times for Clarification on her progress. Just Brilliant

    Check out Mrs Thomas's adventure, our Lares Trek to Machu Picchu here.

    Mrs Thomas
  • Oh my goodness, Matt- it was fabulous. Perfect for New Year’s eve- very festive and special. Really, truly, this trip was one of our best travel experiences. Everything was perfectly planned and timed, Jimmy was great, and I didn’t have to do any leg work! (except walking!) I will most definitely recumbent you guys to anyone wanting to do this trip- thanks again.

    Jen Portman

    Our team of travel experts created Jen's own personalized adventure according to her preferences. If you would like to do the same, get in contact with one of our experts, and see what we can create for you.

    Jen Portman
  • The scope of the service it’s as complete as it can be. You joined us from the very beginning of the activity (the previous day chat) until the check-in in the last hotel. It’s helpful but not oppressing.

    The activity itself is unforgettable. Well balanced, not exhausting, never boring, and with enough content. Of course, the incredible landscape plays its role! The guide (Jaime) it’s perfect for the activity. Well prepared, with a wide range of conversation and explanations about the whole trek. Helpful, funny, and familiar. Congratulations on that.

    So, in general, we would rate your service as excellent. Thank you, and wish you great success!

    Check out Seth's adventure, the one of a kind KM104 (Inca Trail) leading explorers into the world-famous Machu Picchu.

    Seth
  • How do we begin to thank you for the truly amazing experience you planned for us? With three weeks in Peru and only the barest outline of where we wanted to go and what we like to do, you filled in the blanks and gave us the trip of a lifetime! Each day was a new adventure full of wonderful sights, people, and experiences. The places we stayed were wonderful and the food in Peru was fabulous, but it was your people who put the trip over the top. The execution of the plan was flawless – everyone was prompt, knowledgeable, friendly, and fun to be with. They took great care of us and eliminated all the usual stress of travel. You planned for us the perfect balance of “guided” time and independence; the hiking and biking days were perfectly suited to our age, ability, and altitude. We’re telling everyone we know to visit Peru and plan their trip with Amazonas!

    Robin and OJ Burns

    Our team of travel experts created OJ and Robin's own personalized adventure according to their preferences. If you would like to do the same, get in contact with one of our experts, and see what we can create for you.

    Robin and OJ
  • Well we are back from Peru.   We had a fantastic trip! I am so impressed with Amazonas Explorers. They were 100% reliable, friendly, well equipped, and well organized. Our guide Jimmy was so great. We did have him (and a cook, driver and other helpers) to ourselves for the biking, rafting, town tour, and horseback tour. Though we didn't do horses because Dan was unwell so Jimmy (his driver, actually, with Jimmy) drove us to all the local sites and we walked through them, besides helping Dan with his digestive issues. He was so knowledgeable and friendly, spoke English well (and also Spanish and Quecha (?)...we couldn't absorb a quarter of all he told us about, it was so much.  Perfect guide in every way.

    The trek was awesome; harder than we expected (for me the uphills, for Dan the fear of heights did get to him sometimes), BUT, we persevered and did just fine.  Our companions were Brits that were about 30 years old, but the group did well together.  I am still amazed at the porters running up and down in their sandals with huge packs on their backs.  And the rafting...Jimmy and Henry, in a kayak, were obviously VERY skilled; it was the most exciting whitewater I have ever done.  We ended up with the bike trip NOT to the salt mines; I'm not sure why, but the ride we had along the Urubamba was plenty interesting and wore us out anyway.  Maybe he looked at our age and decided the salt mine road was too much?  He didn't know yet how rugged we were.

    Check out Alice's adventure: our multi-activity adventure here, taking explorers through an interactive historic and cultural exploration to Machu Picchu.

    Alice
  • The rafting trip went very well. As you may know, neither Yvonne nor I had done white water rafting before so it was a new experience. Amazonas Explorer put one of their experienced helmsmen/guides (Juan Carlos) on the job. He was supported by the rescue canoeist, a driver, and a cook. We had an interesting trip out to the Urubamba river, taking in several villages, each specializing in a different product.

    The rafting itself was very well organized, the safety drill thorough, the wet suit fitting, and the rafting fun. The river is rather low at the moment but there was one spot where we got out and walked. Otherwise, the degree of difficulty was, we were told, Level 3. Juan Carlos zipped it up a bit further by dunking us at the front to get Yvonne giggling hysterically. All this is recorded on our GoPro which we positioned at the front/bow and then on Juan Carlos’ helmet.

    We had a break halfway through, where to our surprise a snack was produced. In the end, we were treated to a lovely meal, so much so that cars were stopping by the roadside to ask if we were a pop-up restaurant. The scenery was stunning. We got back in the late afternoon. It was tiring while we were paddling but we soon recovered.

    Check out Graham's adventure, our Two Day Apurimac Canyon Rafting Trip, here.

    Graham
  • I recently returned from trekking the Lares Valley. Willow is an exceptional guide and a thoroughly nice individual. His knowledge of both the Peruvian culture and history is infectious. He went out of his way to take time with all members of the group constantly checking how people were feeling and adjusting the day's itinerary to suit.

    Check out Nick's adventure, our Lares Trek to Machu Picchu here.

    Nick
  • We both successfully managed the Inca trek, culminating with a return visit to Machu Picchu on Day 5. The whole experience certainly lived up to our expectations. We had both done some training beforehand and we were glad we did because the trek is in parts quite strenuous, especially Day 3.  Everything was very well-organized. We were in the hands of Amazonas Explorer.

    Our guide (Edward) was very experienced. He knew the area very well and had led groups on more advanced treks in his time. He knew about the Incas, the trail, the surrounding mountains and forests, flora & fauna, history, economy, and even a bit of politics. The crew was also amazing, being courteous and friendly, efficient & helpful, and made a major contribution to our overall enjoyment. We shall never forget the rush of the porters’ train as they passed us by on the trail as they pushed on to the next rendezvous. The camps were good and well-positioned. The days were well-designed and thought-out.

    As you know, it is possible to complete the trek in a shorter duration but 5 days was good for us, particularly at the end. Edward gave us a good tour of MP. It was incredibly hot that day and the place was thronging with visitors. We enjoyed our visit and the level of information was right for us.

    Check out Graham's adventure, the incredible 5-day Inca Trail trek to the world-famous Machu Picchu.

    Graham
  • Hi Matt.

    Thanks for the personal touch yesterday and call this morning.  It was great to meet you in person. I really appreciate you and the company taking care of the additional hotel charges. You and the Amazonas team are a class act. As I mentioned, I deal with many people and companies as part of my profession and know the work involved to deliver the type of experience and customer satisfaction that you have provided us. It is impressive that across so many touchpoints, guides, and experiences you consistently set a high bar.

    Thanks again,

    Our team of travel experts created the Hayman Family's own personalized adventure according to their preferences. If you would like to do the same, get in contact with one of our experts, and see what we can create for you.

    Hayman Family
  • We did the Ultimate Inca Trail Adventure. Amazonas Explorer is a first-class adventure company. Their execution of the trip was flawless. Communication, guides, porters, transports, food, hotels, luggage, permits, tickets, knowledge, and history are excellent on all counts. I would recommend this company without any hesitation or qualification. If I go back and I just might, this is the Company I will choose again.

    Check out SH's adventure, the incredible 5-day Inca Trail trek to the world-famous Machu Picchu.

    S.H
  • Amazonas Explorer provided bikes, paddleboards, kayaks, porters, guides, the works for our trip to Peru. Without fail, everyone was reliable and knowledgeable. The equipment they had for us was in excellent condition, especially important when using bikes. On a short camping trip, we arrived at the site to discover all of our tents erected with cots. We even had slippers and bouquets. The meals they prepared were exceptional. Mark followed us by email every step of the way, making sure we made all our connections and had everything we needed. Cannot offer enough praise for this outfitter.

    Check out Robin's adventure: our multi-activity adventure here, taking explorers through an interactive historic and cultural exploration to Machu Picchu.

    Robin
  • We did the 1-day rafting trip down the Apurimac Canyon thru Amazonas Explorer. It was an experience that I would highly recommend. Our guide for the day was Santiago. From the moment he picked us up from our hotel we knew this was going to be a great experience. He is very passionate about rafting and wanted to make sure the experience was enjoyable for me, my husband, and our 2 daughters ages (12 and 14 years old). We had a 2.5 hours van ride to the starting point of the river, however, Santiago educated us on Peruvian culture. Once we got to our starting destination we were given wet suits, thermal shirts, water shoes, life jackets, and helmets.

    There was a safety lesson and then we began rafting. At no point during the trip did we feel unsafe. They take every saftey precaution available and we had another guide (Neil) follow us in a safety kayak. Neil took pictures throughout the trip down the river. Halfway thru the rafting, we stopped on the bank of the river for a snack. My kids were able to sit in front of the raft during the second half of the trip. We experienced up to 3+ rapids. Toward the end of the rafting trip, Santiago gave us the option to jump out of the raft and swim in the river.

    The water was quite cold (50 degrees F), but it was a great experience. When we arrived on shore there was a tent to change and a tent with a portable toilet. Three other members of their group made a wonderful lunch and set up a tent for us to eat in. The food was amazing. This is a well-run business that believes in the quality of service. I would highly recommend it!

    Check out Amita's adventure, our One Day Apurimac Canyon Rafting Trip, here.

    Amita
  • Having read the book Turn Right at Machu Picchu, I looked up Amazonas Explorer out of curiosity. Four months later, my 11-year-old daughter and I experienced the 8 day Family Adventure Peru which included all transfers and daily excursions in the Sacred Valley and Cusco area. This was a very active trip that included hiking, cycling, kayaking, and SUP.

    The tour conductors were Jose Antonio and Juan Carlos Juros. Both were very knowledgeable and personable but most importantly made us feel safe as every detail was handled and every question answered. Jose had a great sense of humor and was very encouraging during the one-day Inca trail trek to Machu Picchu. Both guides were so kind to my daughter treating her as they would their own and we both learned a great deal about the Peruvian lifestyle, respect for nature, and Pacha Mama (Mother Earth).

    This trip exceeded our expectations in every way. There were many magical moments such as dipping into the 29-foot waterfall along the Inca trail, meeting many local children, interacting with alpacas, llamas, and guinea pigs, having Lake Piuray to ourselves, and enjoying pachamanca--a traditional Peruvian meal cooked under rocks in the ground. We will never forget this experience and are grateful to Amazonas Explorer for everything.

    Check out Mennick's adventure: our multi-activity adventure here, taking explorers through an interactive historic and cultural exploration to Machu Picchu.

    Mennick
  • We had a wonderful time – the whole trip exceeded our expectations – big thank you!!!! The mountain biking was great – I decided not to be challenged after lunch and took the easy route (bus) to the salt pans but the rest of the group made it (and in one piece!!!!)

    Check out Hargreaves's adventure, an action-packed day bike through Cusco and the Sacred Valley, and find out for yourself what all the fuss is about.

    Hargreaves
  • My wife Silvana, my son Roberto, and another couple, Tom and Mary Kyme walked the Inka Trail in July 2016. I just wanted to express our gratitude for such a wonderful experience. In particular, I want to thank Wifredo, our guide. He was so professional in everything that he did. He put our minds at ease in the pre-trek briefing. He ensured that everything we ate and drank was prepared in a very hygienic manner. He provided an expert narrative about the many Inka sites we encountered on the way to the Sacred Valley.

    All of his Porters also provided an excellent service and ensured that we had a fantastic experience. My wife and I had a problem when entering the Park because our Passport Numbers had been changed. Wilfredo solved this problem for us and ensured that we were able to continue with the Trek. I cannot thank him enough.

    Check out Gino's adventure, the incredible 5-day Inca Trail trek to the world-famous Machu Picchu.

    Gino Lenzo
  • We had a fantastic time thank you. Everything went pretty smoothly. We loved Casitas Del Colca - definitely our favourite hotel together with Inkaterra Amazonica. The activities were great and all worked well for everyone. We were so glad we did the one day Inca trail - arriving at Machu Picchu wouldn't have been the same amazing experience without that.

    We all thought Jose Rivas was a fantastic guide and were very fond of him. We loved seeing the condors - a definite highlight. I would say Mauricio was probably our least attentive guide but still nice and friendly. And we somehow missed Miguel on arriving at Lima which was no problem but a bit confusing transferring to international check-in with such a gap between flights.

    All in all an amazing trip - thank you!- Anne

    Check out Annes's adventure, our Southern Explorer, to see the best of all major Peruvian cities.

    Anne Deering
  • We've been home a month now after our family's fantastic trip with Amazonas Explorers. We are still remembering sites, telling friends, and showing our beautiful pictures to family and friends. My daughter dreamed up this trip to Machu Picchu after a cultural presentation on Peru in her Spanish class and we finally did it 4 years later.

    From our arrival tour in Cuzco, whitewater rafting trip, mountain biking trip, and trek on the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu, it was truly awesome and unforgettable. Our "Dream Team" from Chef Teo to the porters to our amazing guide Willow Cardenas Torres all made our trek comfortable, exciting, rewarding and such a wonderful memory for our family. We love Peru, we loved our experience with Amazonas Explorer and hope to return again. We know who to ask for (Willow!) for our next adventure!!! Muchas Gracias!

    The Melby Family

    Check out The Melby Family's adventure: our multi-activity adventure here, taking explorers through an interactive historic and cultural exploration to Machu Picchu.

    Melby Family
  • Dear Jimmy,

    I have done a lot of traveling in my life and I must tell you that you are the very best guide I have ever had. You made the mystery of Machu Picchu and the majesty of the Inca civilization come alive.  Your knowledge & explanation of the cultural history of Peru and Cusco's place in that history and your familiarity with everything around us made our visit really special. Of course, I am very grateful for your hand in helping me navigate the ups and especially the downs.

    I wish health and happiness for you and your family in the future.  If I can ever help you with anything please let me know.

    I will miss you. As we say in Hawaii "a hui hou" - till we meet again.

    Check out L's adventure, our in depth Sacred Valley Explorer, here.

    L
  • We cannot speak highly enough of our experience on the Inca Trail, the Wayki’s and our guide Chino were amazing, helpful, happy, fun and so knowledgeable, they made the trip absolutely perfect. Chino is a real asset to your company, he could not have done any more to make it the trip of a lifetime, nothing was too much trouble and he was so warm and caring to us and to the Wayki’s.

    Check out Marie and Mat's adventure, the incredible 5-day Inca Trail trek to the world-famous Machu Picchu.

    Marie and Mat
  • Our group of three empty-nester couples had an amazing one-week trip to Machu Picchu and the Andes thanks to a personalized itinerary that squeezed as many highlights as possible. Our guide, Jose, was professional and well-versed. It was great to have the trip details and transportation worked out so that we could just enjoy the adventure. We also opted for a rafting trip from Cusco through the company that was much more professional than any rafting trip I have been on in Tennessee or North Carolina.

    We were worried about being cold since the trip was in early October, but Santiago and his team provided high-quality wetsuits that kept us comfortable and fairly dry. There was even a chef who prepared a picnic lunch, and tents for changing, and a portable toilet. I want to go back for a combination hiking/rafting trip and will use Amazonas Explorer again

    Our team of travel experts created Ellen's own personalized adventure according to her preferences. If you would like to do the same, get in contact with one of our experts, and see what we can create for you.

    Ellen
  • We used Amazonas Explorer for our recent trip to Cuzco. We are a family of 4 (two teenagers) and wanted to do something active but reasonable on our 1st day in Cuzco, so after contacting the company via the web, decided on the Sacred Valley one-day bike. Our guide picked us up at the airport and we drove to Pisac (a brief stop in Cuzco for us to get some Peruvian currency).

    The weather was initially pretty rainy, so it wasn't totally clear we'd be able to bike. We went 1st to the market at Pisac, which I thought was OK (I'm not crazy about markets - my wife liked it more). We then drove down the road a bit (we bought a roasted guinea pig at a roadside stand - good to have a guide since I imaging some vendors are better than others). The guide and his two helpers then set up a tent (since it was still drizzling) for our lunch. They prepared a quite nice hot lunch, which we supplemented with our guinea pig. By then, the rain had largely stopped, so we biked back to Pisac along a very quiet, zero-traffic dirt road, which was pretty flat. It was muddy with the rain). We then drove back to Cuzco and they dropped us at our hotel. I liked our guide's very flexible approach. It was kind of a custom tour as it was only the four of us (since it was the day before Christmas, not really their busy season).

    Check out Daniel's adventure, an action-packed day bike through Cusco and the Sacred Valley, and find out for yourself what all the fuss is about.

    Daniel
  •  From the first day to the last, everything was fantastic. We never had to worry or wonder about anything. Hotels, van pick-ups, guides - you had it all covered!

    The boutique hotels were cute, clean and welcoming. We enjoyed not having to stay in big places or Americanized versions. We felt like we got to know local people better. Cuzco hotel was especially convenient for strolling around. As for our two expeditions, the Eureka tents were fantastic. (They are made close to where we live!). One night we stayed warm and dry in a 10 hour rainstorm!

    We could have never guessed the food would be as tasty and well presented as it was. Paulino, our Peruvian cook, was amazing! He made the best soups each day and kept us well stoked up for riding and hiking. This was a huge surprise and one which really added to the trip. They ( the rides) were all great - each one was different. Riding down from the top of Manu was visual, a special treat. Xavier, our guide, couldn't have been better. He made sure we were safe, shared history and nature and made the ride fun, exhilarating and a true adventure.

    Each day had its own special touch. We always had something to look forward to.

    We hired bikes before, but never such high-end models. We both ride Scott road bikes at home, so we are familiar with their quality. Full suspension, disc brakes - these bikes put up with a lot of rough terrain and are handled beautifully.

    Can't say enough about Xavier. He met us at the airport, gave us a tour of Cuzco, cautioned us re. altitude, drinking and climatizing. He prepared us well, starting with an easy day and gradually progressing to more and more difficult terrain. We felt we really learned a lot about off road riding on this trip. In addition, he was a fantastic liaison between us and local villagers. We felt we were welcomed warmly wherever we went. Part of it was because of the small size of our group. He also was extremely knowledgeable re. history, culture and nature. We saw some incredible birds thanks to his knowledge. He is one of the best!!

    On our Inca trail hike, Eduard and Nilda were a great team. Eduard knew exactly what we would need to do to reach our goal. Nilda was patient and understanding. Their historical knowledge as we traversed the trail was outstanding and added immensely to the experience. You have chosen your guides well. They share their personal lives with us, as we do with them. They form us into a working, sharing team. They celebrate our successes as if it were their first time. They REALLY made the two adventures (biking & trekking) a special experience!!!.... Who would have guessed we'd have Mercedes vans on those bumpy backroads?!

    Check out Carol and Jim's adventure, the incredible experience of cycling and exploring the Sacred Valley by bike .

    Carol and Jim
  • Hi Carol,

    I just wanted to provide some feedback from our trek. It was amazing! The whole team were incredible, from Percy the driver, all the porters, the cooks and especially Jimmy. It was a magical experience and most of the time we felt we had the trail and the campsites to ourselves.

    The food was incredible, (thank you Paulino and Alex), the campsites amazing and Jimmy was an awesome Guide. His knowledge of the Incan history, wildlife and fauna was impeccable.

    The communication from yourself and Thom was excellent. We have nothing to fault.

    A truly memorable experience.

    If there is a specific website such as trip advisor you'd like me to write a review please let me know.

    Thanks again,

    Rich and Wendy

    Check out Richard and Wendy's adventure, the incredible 5-day Inca Trail trek to the world-famous Machu Picchu.

    Richard and Wendy Boldock
  • From October 29th to November 6th we were on an Amazonas Explorer trip in Peru with your guide Chino. Due to issues we faced at the end of that trip, we were unable to do a thorough job of completing the evaluation form so we are now adding our comments. You have probably heard about the medical crisis that occurred when we returned to our hotel in Cusco on November 5th and the role that Chino played in helping us to get through it.

    We could not have asked for a better guide than Chino. He helped us immensely by taking us to and from the hospital, staying with us throughout the ordeal, translating, advocating for us and offering support. This was well beyond his role as a guide and his willingness to do this really touched our hearts. As a guide, he was always friendly and courteous, going out of his way to ensure that we were comfortable and enjoying ourselves and that Gordon was able to see as much as possible despite his mobility challenges. Chino's knowledge of Inca history, culture and engineering is profound and we learned so much from him. Plus, he was a lot of fun. The drivers we had [especially Percy] were also great.

    Otherwise, we were very pleased with the arrangements that you made for us and would happily recommend your services to others. With thanks and warm wishes,

    Barbara and Gordon

    Our team of travel experts created Barbara and Gordon's own personalized adventure according to their preferences. If you would like to do the same, get in contact with one of our experts, and see what we can create for you.

    Barbara and Gordon Sykes
  • It was one of the most wonderful travel trip we both had. Trek was bit trying but it was worth the effort. Beautiful scenery and wilderness was amazing on the way. All the arrangements you have done was excellent: good hotels, friendly guides and tasty food (3 course meals while camping!) can't ask more.

    Thanks again for helping us for such a memorable travel experience. I have attached our photo at Machu Picchu.

    Check out Girish's adventure, our Lares Trek to Machu Picchu here.

    Girish Desphande
  • Firstly our guides were fantastic. I'd like to mention the standouts:- Cristo in Sacred Valley, Cusco, and Machu Picchu

    What can I say about Machu Picchu, totally mind-blowing, I consider myself so privileged to have walked through one of the great marvels of the world, to have had my hands on the same stones that the Incas touched, to stand at the three windows and feel that I could touch the sun and the connection I felt with the spirituality of what is the essence of Machu Picchu. Totally humbling. I'm So lucky!

    I also realized I missed telling you about a very significant highlight. The Goose Dance, performed by Kindy students in Huilloc was Organised by Cristo and it had a profound effect on all of us The little ones are amazing.

    Thank you for the best holiday imaginable in one of the world's greatest continents

    Check out Mrs Musemeci's adventure, our in depth Sacred Valley Explorer, here.

    Mrs Musemeci
  • It has taken us a few weeks to recover from the awesome trip that we took September 18th - 27th with your wonderful trekking company! While it is but a memory now, we wanted you to know just how special this trip was for all of us. On behalf of our group of five, we want you to know that Amazonas Explorer provided an extremely positive experience, from the front end planning of the trip, answering questions, booking and paying for the trip, all transfers to and from the hotels, sightseeing prior to the hike to Machu Picchu and then the actual Inca Trail and train and bus ride on the return to Cusco, up to the final day of our trip.

    Everyone that we met from day one through the end was extremely professional, friendly, and treated us with respect and friendship, helping to make us feel extra special. You have every reason to be proud of the way all of your employees represented your company and your beautiful country! Our guides, porters and cooks were amazing, and did an awesome job to ensure that everyone was embraced as family, making sure we were well-fed (the meals were amazing) and as comfortable as we could be in a camping situation.

    I want to point out an exceptional young man and Assistant Guide that supported our group, Henry Quintano Loayza. Although I believe this was only his second time on the trail as an assistant, he was most definitely someone who stands out in customer service, leadership, and compassion.

    There was a young lady in the group who really struggled on the hike, and Henry was quick to be there to encourage her (as well as all of us when we struggled) and made sure she was safe, oftentimes carrying her backpack so she would be able to make it to camp each day. Henry also carried my pack several times as I struggled one afternoon on the slippery trail, and also once we made it to Machu Picchu on the trail down to the bus stop. He is such a joy to be around, always there with his quick smile and wonderful demeanor, and our group really enjoyed spending time with him. We hope that he will one day be promoted to a Lead Guide with your company, as he was a favorite among all of the hikers on the trip.

    Warmest Regards - Geanine Ballard

    Check out Geanine's adventure, the incredible 5-day Inca Trail trek to the world-famous Machu Picchu.

    Geanine Ballard
  • As you could tell by the pictures - I still have more to post - it was a memorable trip. We loved Peru and it was so different from any other country I've visited. It has a unique culture and the scenery is jaw-droppingly beautiful. Plus, the history - man - the Inca were busy little buggers. It's amazing to wonder what kind of structures still remain uncovered. At Machu Picchu, Gonzalo (guide) pointed out a massive aqueduct across the valley/river from the site. It had just been discovered in the last nine months. Crazy. He told us they estimate less than 50% of Machu Picchu has been exposed and just a bit more than 20% of Choquequirao has been identified.

    Speaking of Gonzalo, he was great. If I were you, I wouldn't hesitate to request him to guide future guests you send to Peru. He's warm, upbeat, enthusiastic, and funny and he knows his stuff. Plus he is so proud of his country and his heritage. Having a private guide and vehicle really enhanced our experience.

    Check out Susan's adventure, our in depth Sacred Valley Explorer, here.

    Susan S
  • Dear Mark:

    Thank you for helping us have an experience of a lifetime.

    We rode in on bikes and tomorrow we head out for La Paz. The group I helped, no you helped get to Machu Picchu are so thankful.

    We especially want to thank you for Nilo. He was an incredible guide funny, concerned always there and so knowable. We have been biking together for over 2 months and we have become a close net family, Nile joined our family for two days

    I highly recommend you and your company for further groups.

    Svend

    Check out Svend's adventure, an action-packed day bike through Cusco and the Sacred Valley, and find out for yourself what all the fuss is about.

    Svend Paulsen
  • This email is intended to help you with further trips going the same way as us and does not require a reply. I deem the organisation of our trip by you as a success. The quality of the guides stands out as being a major contributor to an interesting and successful holiday of this type. They were all good, with perfect English, excellent knowledge of the sort of things we are interested in, and with a very good sense of humor, which made it fun. Maybe we were lucky, but please commend Cristobal (Cusco) and  Julio (Lake Titicaca) from one very satisfied client.

    Your hotel choices were exactly what we liked with perhaps Hotel B in Lima being the most stylish and Titilaka being the most scenic. Titilaka had Jude Law staying. It was good for us to stay there for 3 days because we like islands and birds. Most other people there thought two days would do. Highlights for us were the Andean Explorer train, Macchu Picchu itself, and the total experience of Lake Titicaca. I would miss out on Lima.

    Thank you for your help - Giles

    Our team of travel experts created Gile's own personalized adventure according to their preferences. If you would like to do the same, get in contact with one of our experts, and see what we can create for you.

    Giles Weaver
  • Thanks to all at Amazonas but particularly Mauricio and Efrain our guides to the Colca Valley and Machu Pichu and the Sacred Valley. The whole trip was excellent. The Boutique accommodation was so much better than large impersonal hotels and attention to detail such as the timing of arrival at sites ahead of the crowds was welcomed. Excellent natural and cultural history knowledge were displayed throughout and attention to our well-being energy etc was shown throughout truly memorable.

    Jacqui and Russell Watkinson

    Our team of travel experts created Jacqui and Russell's own personalized adventure according to their preferences. If you would like to do the same, get in contact with one of our experts, and see what we can create for you.

    Jacqui and Russell Watkinson
  • I don't normally write thank you emails, but we had other guides during our 3-week Peru visit, while some were good some were terrible, they just highlighted how amazingly special Jose was and how lucky we were to have him. He's a credit to his profession and Amazonas.

    Our team of travel experts created George and Thom's own personalized adventure according to their preferences. If you would like to do the same, get in contact with one of our experts, and see what we can create for you.

    George and Thom McCall
    -
    April 2014
  • We all want to thank you from the bottom of our hearts for organizing the trip of a lifetime for us.  Every single aspect of the holiday was immaculately organized, from the initial planning on your behalf, the expert advice given to tailor the trip to suit us, to the actual reality of being in Peru and completing the Inca Trail. Our guide Efrain was a delight – full of knowledge, full of fun, and very easy on the eye which is always a plus.  Our wonderful porters were adorable and quite awesome, and the hotels, flights, and transits were seamless.  The food was divine, especially the ceviche and the guinea pig, and the Pisco Sours were pretty good too.

    The Trail, itself, was wonderfully planned.  We mainly walked on our own which gave Efrain plenty of opportunity to show us the amazing flora and fauna, and his knowledge and passion for the history of the Inca people and the Peruvians was impeccable.  We were treated like royalty by our porters and fed like royalty too.  Big Karen got inadvertently married to head porter, Daniele, so we’re waiting to see how that works out...

    Lima and Cusco were both amazing cities, and we managed to see quite a lot of both of them. So we’re back home enriched with the experience and delighted in the knowledge that we have some great memories to cherish. Sorry to gush, but it really was that great.

    Check out Sandra, Karrie, Karen, and Sue's adventure, our Southern Explorer, to see the best of all major Peruvian cities.

    Sandra, Karrie, Big Karen and Sue
  • We did the 1 day Bike A-salt mountain biking trip with 3 friends, and it ended up being my favorite part of the entire trip. It had beautiful scenery, allowed us to see some cool ruins, and was a very fun ride. The first half is more scenic with fireroad trails while the second half of the trip was more technical on donkey trails with some challenging terrain. Our guide, Xavier, was very friendly and enthusiastic about biking.

    The ride was very safe since they have a van that meets up during the ride every half hour to hour. It also carried food, water, and our stuff so we didn't have to keep it all on us during the ride. They set up an excellent lunch out on the field with shade and a delicious variety of food. Also, the equipment they rent you is all great quality.

    Our group wasn't the most experienced, but they tailor the trip to your skill level. Xavier also gave good tips to us on biking. We accidentally left our jacket in the van after the trip, and while I offered to go pick it up from them, they drove all the way back to our hostel the next day and dropped it off for us, great service! Highly recommend this trip with Amazonas Explorer. The price was excellent for what you get.

    Check out Steve's adventure, an action-packed day bike through Cusco and the Sacred Valley, and find out for yourself what all the fuss is about.

    Steve G.
    -
    Bike Moras Maray
  • While we arrived in the rainy season and the rapids were said to be not the best, we thoroughly enjoyed the one-day rafting experience. The equipment was good, the staff were very professional, and the river was great fun. We had options of large rafts or kayaks and used both. The lunch following was delicious, and Juan Carlos, our rafting guide, was knowledgeable, interesting, and clearly had extensive rafting and outdoor experience. Highly recommend this for families.

    Check out John's adventure, our One Day Apurimac Canyon Rafting Trip, here.

    John Simmons
  • Paul, When I explained to you originally that this was to be our family holiday of a lifetime, we had high expectations for a great trip. That you and your excellent staff managed to far exceed those expectations is a testament to a great and well-managed company. When we describe to our friends where we visited, what we did and what we saw they are all amazed at how much could be crammed into 16 exciting days. Peru certainly has it all and we have come back with a feeling of great admiration and respect for its history, wildlife, and people. We wish you and your team the very best and hope you are able to continue making families such as ours feel very special and privileged long into the future.

    Our team of travel experts created Brian's own personalized adventure according to their preferences. If you would like to do the same, get in contact with one of our experts, and see what we can create for you.

    Brian
  • The biking was AMAZING!!!! We had a fantastic time. Javier was a superb guide, the service, equipment, lunch, snacks were all EXCELLENT!! The terrain was fantastic, we did 3 runs on the half-day and had a great time! We could not have asked for anything more - Thank you very much. We will recommend the company highly to friends who visit in the future. Maybe come back ourselves. We were wishing we had more time on the bikes when we finished!!!

    Check out Ashwini's adventure, an action-packed day bike through Cusco and the Sacred Valley, and find out for yourself what all the fuss is about.

    Ashwini A.
  • We had a wonderful trip hiking to Machu Picchu in December, and want to tell you what a fantastic job Willow Torres did for us.  He was informative, helpful, entertaining, and professional and made the hike successful.  He even did well as a doctor.  If we have friends who consider going on this trip we will strongly urge them to make sure Willow is their guide

    Check out David's adventure, our Lares Trek to Machu Picchu here.

    David Hammer
  • Apologies for the tardy response to the fabulous trip you arranged for me and Oliver. We both had a great time and I cannot thank you enough for the superb organization involved. Thank you also for the lunch and change in plans that were made so effortlessly on the last day of our trek with Zach

    Check out Miranda's adventure, our Lares Trek to Machu Picchu here.

    Miranda Plunkett
  • Hi Dougie, We just got back from our rafting trip and it was amazing! We all had a fantastic time and did not want to get out of the raft, it was so much fun! The scenery was breathtakingly beautiful.  The guides were knowledgeable, patient and a joy to be with. Lunch was delicious and well prepared. We enjoyed ourselves very much and would highly recommend Amazonas Explorer.  Thank you again for organizing and setting this up. We are also loving the privacy and hospitality of the Urubamba Villas.

    Check out Cindy's adventure, our Two Day Black Canyon Rafting Trip, here.

    Cindy Nguyen
  • The three days in the Sacred Valley were very worthwhile. Certainly much easier than doing the climb! Our little hacienda was slap in the middle of the Valley. It was in the village of Urubamba, (as in the river) down a dirt track set amongst farms, far away from noise or traffic or towns. A high wall surrounded the unkempt garden (which was full of indigenous South African flowers!) and at the back, a lovely orchard full of fruit trees in blossom. It made me think of the villages we slept in the Annapurnas - remember the apple orchards at Marpha, and then the next night in orange orchards?

    Anyway the hacienda was run by a delightful couple who couldn't do enough for us. The accommodation was basic but homely and most comfortable. Sue liked it so much, she stayed behind one day just to enjoy the place by herself and to write.

    Our guide Chino was an absolute star. He called us his beautiful super duper ladies which endeared him to us no end. Did you know that he studied history at university and was a lecturer? He said he didn't have patience with the students, so he gave that up and now he prefers guiding. He had a wealth of knowledge. Anyway every day he took us to a different Inca site, as set out in your itinerary to us. After visiting the site we would set off on a hike through hills and dale. That was fabulous - the walking part. Many times we would pass minor Inka sites, and of course, the never-ending terraces were often our contour paths. Then all of a sudden we would come upon a clearing and there would be the most beautiful picnic lunch set out for us. With a gas cooker and all to make us HOT tea! And there was nobody else in sight, we were the only people on the planet.

    The Amazon Basin was WONDERFUL!!! Certainly one of the highlights.

    Three nights there was perfect. If we were there for 2 nights, I would have felt cheated. Once again our guide was excellent. Ivan was a native from the forest - so you can imagine the wealth of stories he had to tell. He liked to refer to his grandfather who taught him all about the medicines available in the forests. So, it was a wonderful trip. Thank you for making it happen.

    Check out Carmen's adventure, our in depth Sacred Valley Explorer, with an Amazon Basin add on, here.